JavaScript 将变量插入字符串

  1. 在 JavaScript 中使用模板文字将变量插入字符串
  2. 在 JavaScript 中使用基本格式将变量插入字符串
  3. 在 JavaScript 中使用 sprintf() 将变量插入字符串
  4. 结论

本文将介绍如何在 JavaScript 中将变量插入字符串。

在 JavaScript 中使用模板文字将变量插入字符串

模板文字的概念在 JavaScript 中已经存在了一段时间。它们以前被称为模板字符串。ES6 中引入了模板文字。与必须使用繁琐的字符串连接相比,它提供了一种将变量嵌入给定句子中的简便方法。代替使用引号(双引号或单引号),我们使用带反引号(键盘上的`字符)定义的模板文字。我们将字符串放在反引号中,并将变量嵌入句子中。以下是模板文字的用法。

仅将字符串本身包含在一组反引号中就可以使其成为字符串值。它具有与在双引号"中保留字符串文本相同的功能。以下示例代码描述了用作模板文字的简单字符串。

console.log(`Hello World`);

输出:

Hello World

我们已经准备好正常的字符串。如果必须在此字符串中显示变量的值,则需要嵌入变量。嵌入时,我们将变量用大括号括起来,并在其前加上 $ 符号。嵌入变量值的语法是 ${variableName}。以下代码段将 eggCount 变量嵌入到普通字符串中,而整个内容都封装在反引号中。

let eggCount = 20;
console.log(`On easter we decorted ${eggCount}` easter eggs);

输出:

On easter we decorted 20 easter eggs

嵌入涉及变量的表达式

与带有模板文字的纯字符串连接不同,我们可以包含具有多个变量的表达式,类似于使用模板文字在 JavaScript 中进行编码。如果我们需要执行某些操作,例如求和,获取子字符串(包括日期)等,则可以将所有这些功能以及更多功能嵌入带有模板文字的字符串中。下面的代码集有很多用例。

let a = 5; b = 10;
console.log(`Sum of ${a} and ${b} is ${a + b}`);

输出:

Sum of 5 and 10 is 15

另一个涉及日期的示例如下。在这里,我们不使用任何变量,但是模板文字中包含的表达式本身可以工作。它是带有 javascript 的字符串,继续使用双引号或反引号,就像我们连接句子时一样:

console.log(`The date today is ${new Date().getDate()}-${new Date().getMonth() + 1}-${new Date().getFullYear()}`);

输出:

The date today is 7-4-2021

备注

  • 模板文字提供了将变量嵌入句子中的最简单方法之一。
  • 它还支持直接在字符串中包含表达式,并让编译器在运行时解析计算。
  • 现在,我们可以轻松地在字符串中包含单引号和双引号,而无需使用转义符。
  • 模板文字使编码简单、简洁、整齐、可读。
  • 模板文字的值可以分配给新变量。可以将其视为包含变量值的新字符串。

在 JavaScript 中使用基本格式将变量插入字符串

将变量值整齐地插入字符串的另一种方法是使用 JavaScript 支持的基本格式。使用 Javascriptconsole.log(),我们可以避免串联并在目标字符串中添加占位符。如下所示,将要分配的值作为参数传递。

let a = 5; b = 10;
console.log('Sum of %d and %d is %d.', a, b, (a+b));

输出:

Sum of 5 and 10 is 15.

变量到值的这种解析仅与 console.log() 一起使用。因此,我们不能将其用于分配给其他变量,也不能将其用于在 HTML UI 中显示新的已解析字符串。

备注

  • 我们可以在使用 console.log() 函数进行记录时使用这个方法。因此,该方法不适用于将值分配给变量。因此,它可能不值得在日志以外的场景使用。
  • 使用基本格式时,字符串中使用的占位符应与作为参数传递的数据类型相对应。例如,对于显示数值,句子中的占位符应该是%d,对于字符串数据类型,应该是%s
let op1 = 5, op2 = 10, operation = "Sum";
console.log('%s of %d and %d is %d.', operation, op1, op2, (op1 + op2));

输出:

Sum of 5 and 10 is 15.

如果我们忘记考虑传递的参数类型,则可能是类型不匹配。JavaScript 会尝试对变量进行类型转换,并将结果值添加到字符串中。下面的代码解释了这种现象。

let op1 = 5, op2 = 10, operation = "Sum";
console.log('%s of %d and %d is %d.', op1, op2, (op1 + op2), operation);

输出:

5 of 10 and 15 is NaN.

op1 是 Number 数据类型,我们正在使用%s 将其注入到最终字符串中。%s 会自动将数字类型转换为字符串数据类型。这种转换进行得很顺利。但是对于 operation 变量,该值将分配给该序列中紧随其后的占位符。该占位符为%d。因此,此处将字符串数据类型转换为数字。转换不会发生。因此,返回的结果是 NaN,我们将其视为输出的结尾字。

我们可以在参数中使用表达式,就像在 (op1 + op2) 中看到的那样。JavaScript 理解并相应地将其解析为总和。

在这种情况下,如果不使用转义字符,则不能在最终字符串中使用双引号。但是,如果将整个结构封装在双引号中,则可以使用单引号。请看以下代码。

let op1 = 5, op2 = 10, operation = "Sum";
console.log("'%s' of %d and %d is %d.", operation, op1, op2, (op1 + op2));

输出:

'Sum' of 5 and 10 is 15.

在 JavaScript 中使用 sprintf() 将变量插入字符串

在 Javascript ES6 中的模板文字之前,开发社区遵循了功能丰富的 sprintf.js 库。该库有一个称为 sprintf() 的方法。sprintf.js 是 JavaScript 的开源库。它具有适用于 Node.js 和浏览器的实现。有关设置和配置,你可以访问其 git-hub 页面sprintf() 用于在字符串中包含变量,而不使用字符串串联。用法如下。

let sprintf = require('sprintf-js').sprintf;

let op1 = 5, op2 = 10, operation = "Sum";
sprintf('%s of %d and %d is %d.', operation, op1, op2, (op1 + op2));

输出:

Sum of 5 and 10 is 15.

它具有以下各种有用的特殊功能。

  • sprintf() 函数允许以不同顺序指定变量。
  • 像模板文字的功能一样,sprintf() 解析封装在字符串中的表达式。
  • 它支持多种格式。除了标准的字符串和数字之外,sprintf-js 库还支持布尔值,二进制格式等,用于将变量值输出到字符串。
  • 此外,你可以使用库提供的 vsprintf() 方法将参数指定为数组。
  • 它还允许直接在第二个参数中传递对象,并自动解析变量。

该库提供了更多功能。可以在其 GitHub 链接中指定的 Read.me 文件中找到更多详细信息。

结论

如果要在字符串中包含变量值而不使用+ 和双引号来进行繁琐的字符串连接,则最好的选择是使用带有反引号的功能模板文字。如果我们仅需要出于记录目的而在输出字符串中插入值,JavaScript 的 console.log() 函数就很有用。它具有默认情况下包括的格式设置选项。sprintf.js 库具有丰富的功能,并在空间中起着主导作用,因为它在嵌入变量值时比模板文字提供了更多的功能。但这是以熟悉该库为代价的。

相关文章 - JavaScript String

  • 在 Javascript 中从字符串中删除字符
  • 如何在 JavaScript 中检查空字符串

JavaScript Insert Variable Into String

  1. Use Template Literals to Insert Variable Into String in JavaScript
  2. Use Basic Formatting to Insert Variable Into String in JavaScript
  3. Use sprintf() to Insert Variable Into String in JavaScript
  4. Conclusion

This article will introduce how to insert variable(s) into a string in JavaScript.

Use Template Literals to Insert Variable Into String in JavaScript

The concept of template literals has been around for a while in JavaScript. They were earlier known as template strings. Template literals was introduced in ES6. It offers an easier way to embed variables in a given sentence than having to use cumbersome string concatenations. Instead of using quotes (double quotes or single quotes), we use template literals defined with the backticks (` character in keyboard). We place the string in the backticks and embed our variables in the sentence. Following are the usages of template literals.

Just including a string in a set of backticks by itself makes it a string value. It has the same functionality as holding the string text in double-quotes ". The following sample code depicts a simple string used as a template literal.

console.log(`Hello World`);

Output:

Hello World

We have a normal string ready. If we have to display the value of a variable in this string, we need to embed variables. While embedding, we wrap the variable in curly braces with a $ sign preceding it. The syntax for embedding the variable value is ${variableName}. The following piece of code has the eggCount variable embedded in a usual string, with this entire content is encapsulated in backticks.

let eggCount = 20;
console.log(`On easter we decorted ${eggCount}` easter eggs);

Output:

On easter we decorted 20 easter eggs

Embedding Expressions Involving Variables

Unlike the mere string concatenation, with template literals, we can include expressions with more than one variable, similar to coding in JavaScript with the template literals. If we need to do certain operations like summing, getting substrings, including dates, etc., all these functionalities and much more can be embedded into a string with template literals. The following code set has a variety of use cases for doing so.

let a = 5; b = 10;
console.log(`Sum of ${a} and ${b} is ${a + b}`);

Output:

Sum of 5 and 10 is 15

Another example involving date is as follows. Here we do not use any variables, but the expressions included in template literals work for themselves. It is the strings with javascript in continuation with having to use the double quotes or backticks over and over again as we would do with concatenating sentences:

console.log(`The date today is ${new Date().getDate()}-${new Date().getMonth() + 1}-${new Date().getFullYear()}`);

Output:

The date today is 7-4-2021

Remarks

  • Template literals offer one of the easiest ways to embed variables in a sentence.
  • It also offers support for including expressions directly in the string and leave the compiler to resolve the calculations at run time.
  • We can now easily include single quotes and double quotes in a string without using escape characters.
  • Template literals make coding simple, concise, neat, and readable.
  • The value of template literals can be assigned to a new variable. It can be considered as a new string holding the values of your variables.

Use Basic Formatting to Insert Variable Into String in JavaScript

Another way of neatly inserting the variable values into our string is by using the basic formatting supported in JavaScript. Using the Javascript console.log(), we can avoid concatenation and add placeholders in the targetted string. The values to be assigned are passed as arguments as shown below.

let a = 5; b = 10;
console.log('Sum of %d and %d is %d.', a, b, (a+b));

Output:

Sum of 5 and 10 is 15.

This resolution of variables into values works only with console.log(). Hence, we cannot use it for assigning to a different variable, and we can not use it to display the new resolved string in HTML UI.

Remarks

  • We can use this method while logging with the console.log() function. Hence, this method will not work for assigning values to a variable. Therefore, it may not be worthy of scenarios other than logging.
  • While using the basic formatting, placeholders used in the string should be corresponding to the type of data passed as a parameter. For instance, for displaying a numeric value, the placeholder in the sentence should be %d for string data type it is %s.
let op1 = 5, op2 = 10, operation = "Sum";
console.log('%s of %d and %d is %d.', operation, op1, op2, (op1 + op2));

Output:

Sum of 5 and 10 is 15.

If we forget to consider the type of parameter passed, there is a type mismatch. JavaScript will try to typecast the variable, and it will add the resultant value to the string. The following code explains this phenomenon.

let op1 = 5, op2 = 10, operation = "Sum";
console.log('%s of %d and %d is %d.', op1, op2, (op1 + op2), operation);

Output:

5 of 10 and 15 is NaN.

op1 is of the Number data type, and we are using the %s to inject it into the final string. The %s will auto type-cast the number to a string data type. This conversion goes smoothly. But for the operation variable, the value is assigned to a placeholder that comes next in the sequence. This placeholder is %d. Hence, here a string data type is being converted to a number. The conversion does not happen. Hence the result returned is NaN, which we see as the end word of the output.

We can use expressions in the parameters, as we saw in the case of (op1 + op2). The javascript understands and resolves it as a sum accordingly.

In this case, we can not use Double quotes in the final string without using the escape characters. However, we can use single quotes if we are encapsulating the entire structure in double-quotes. See the following code.

let op1 = 5, op2 = 10, operation = "Sum";
console.log("'%s' of %d and %d is %d.", operation, op1, op2, (op1 + op2));

Output:

'Sum' of 5 and 10 is 15.

Use sprintf() to Insert Variable Into String in JavaScript

Before Template Literals in ES6 of Javascript, the development community followed the feature-rich library of sprintf.js. The library has a method called sprintf(). sprintf.js is an open-source library for JavaScript. It has its implementations for Node.js and browsers. For setup and configurations, you can visit their git-hub page. sprintf() is used to include the variables in a string without using the string concatenation. The usage is as follows.

let sprintf = require('sprintf-js').sprintf;

let op1 = 5, op2 = 10, operation = "Sum";
sprintf('%s of %d and %d is %d.', operation, op1, op2, (op1 + op2));

Output:

Sum of 5 and 10 is 15.

It has various useful special features as follows.

  • sprintf() function allows to specify the variables in a different order.
  • Like the functionality of template literals, sprintf() resolves expressions encapsulated within strings.
  • It has support for various formats. Other than the standard string and number, the sprintf-js library supports boolean, binary formats etc., for outputting the variable values to a string.
  • Moreover, you can specify the arguments as an array using the vsprintf() method provided by the library.
  • It also allows passing object directly in the second argument and resolves the variables automatically.

There are many more features that this library offers. More details can be found in the Read.me file specified in their GitHub link.

Conclusion

When it comes to including the variable values to your string without going for the tedious string concatenations using the + and double quotes, your best option will be to go for Template Literals, the feature with backticks. If we require inserting values in the output string only for logging purposes, the console.log() function of JavaScript is useful. It has the formatting options included by default. The sprintf.js library is feature-rich and dominates the space as it offers much more than the Template Literals when it comes to embedding the variable values. But that comes at a small cost of getting familiarized with the library.

Contribute
DelftStack is a collective effort contributed by software geeks like you. If you like the article and would like to contribute to DelftStack by writing paid articles, you can check the write for us page.

Related Article - JavaScript String

  • Case Insensitive String Comparison in JavaScript
  • Remove a Character From a String in Javascript