在 Javascript 中将字符串转换为日期

  1. 使用 new Date() 函数在 JavaScript 中将字符串转换为日期
  2. 在 JavaScript 中使用 Date.parse() 函数将字符串转换为日期
  3. 在 JavaScript 中拆分字符串并将其转换为日期
  4. 结论

有时需要将字符串转换为日期格式。该字符串可以是作为字符串存储在数据库中的日期值,也可以是从 API 返回的值。无论哪种情况,都不能在日期选择器或输入类型 date 中直接使用此字符串值。因此,需要将字符串转换为日期对象才能在 HTML UI 中显示。由于采用字符串格式,因此无法执行特定于日期的操作。因此,我们需要将字符串转换为日期对象。在这里,我们列出了几种将字符串转换为日期的方法:

  • new Date()
  • Date.parse()
  • 拆分并转换为日期

使用 new Date() 函数在 JavaScript 中将字符串转换为日期

将字符串转换为日期的最常用方法是使用 new Date() 函数。new Date() 接受下面描述的各种形式的参数,但是返回一个日期对象。

  1. 没有参数作为参数。如果未将任何参数传递给 new Date() 函数,则 new Date() 将返回当前系统日期和时间,包括本地系统时间中的时区信息。
  2. 传递日期对象作为参数。new Date() 将返回一个日期对象,如作为参数传递的日期字符串所示。
  3. 传递字符串日期。new Date('2018-12-3') 函数最有趣的部分是,它可以将以字符串格式传递的日期作为参数转换为日期格式。我们将对此进行详细讨论。

将字符串日期作为参数传递

当我们以字符串格式将日期传递给 new Date() 时,它将转换为日期对象。字符串格式必须为 ISO 8601格式 - YYYY-MM-DD,才能正常使用。此方法可能无法将其他日期格式转换为日期对象。例如,参考以下代码:

new Date("2021-05-23");
new Date("2020/2/29");
new Date("2020-14-03");
new Date("14-02-2021");

输出:

Sun May 23 2021 05:30:00 GMT+0530 (India Standard Time)
Sat Feb 29 2020 00:00:00 GMT+0530 (India Standard Time)
Invalid Date
Invalid Date

从上面的示例中可以看到,日期唯一接受的字符串格式是 2021-05-232020/2/29new Date() 函数可以处理格式为 YYYY-MM-DDYYYY/MM/DD 的字符串。如果我们使用的其他字符串格式不符合 ISO 8601 标准,则 new Date() 将无法解析日期,并将返回为 Invalid date

备注

  • new Date() 仅可用于将符合 ISO 8601 格式 YYYY-MM-DD hh:mm:ss 的字符串转换为日期。
  • 对于 new Date() 无法理解的其他格式,最好将字符串拆分并将其作为参数传递给 new Date(),如本文中后续所介绍。
  • new Date() 也可以转换格式为 01 Mar 2020 12:30 或什至 MM DD YYYY HH:mm 的字符串。如果我们使用从后端通过 API 传递的值进行转换,则应确保传递的格式符合 new Date() 函数所理解的,最好检查 new Date() 返回有效的日期对象。否则,代码可能会中断。

在 JavaScript 中使用 Date.parse() 函数将字符串转换为日期

Date.parse() 是转换字符串日期的备选方案。它返回一个数字值而不是日期对象。因此,如果你希望使用日期对象,则需要进一步处理。它将解析的日期转换为一个数字,该数字表示自 1970 年 1 月 1 日午夜以来经过的毫秒数。它类似于时间戳格式,区别在于 Date.parse() 返回毫秒值,而不是秒。

Date.parse("2020-11-21")
Date.parse("2019-01-01T12:30:00.000Z")
Date.parse("20-11-2021")
Date.parse("11-20-2021")

输出:

1605916800000
1546345800000
NaN
1637346600000

值得注意的是,在可以接受的输入值类型方面,Date.parse()new Date() 相同,但是可以更好地手动检查日期是否为有效格式。这样的方法非常有用,特别是当我们处理 API 响应值时。在这种情况下,我们可能需要执行检查以确保后端返回的值符合 Date.parse()new Date() 函数所接受的日期格式。只需执行 isNaN() 检查,即可帮助识别并安全地使用日期转换方法。

let stringsFromAPI = ["2020-11-21", "20-11-2021"];

stringsFromAPI.forEach( (d) => {
    if (!isNaN(Date.parse(d))) {
        console.log(new Date(d));
    }    
})

输出:

Sat Nov 21 2020 05:30:00 GMT+0530 (India Standard Time)

请注意,此处的日期 20-11-2021 的格式为 DD-MM-YYYY。因此,Date.parse() 函数或 new Date() 函数将无法理解它。因此,如果 stringsFromAPI 是来自后端的值,则上述函数将仅转换那些符合可接受格式的日期。!isNaN(Date.parse(d)) 静默拒绝不正确的日期值,并记录成功转换的值。

备注

  • Date.parse()new Date() 相似,但返回类型不同,这使得它适合检查日期值的格式是否正确,还可以通过使用来分配日期 dateObj.setTime(Date.parse(DateString))
  • 与 Unix 时间戳相比,Date.parse() 返回的毫秒数可用于对日期进行精确比较,即使不使用 new Date() 将其转换为实际的日期对象也是如此。
  • Date.parse() 内部使用 new Date() 进行日期解析,因此 Date.parse() 函数也支持 new Date() 函数接受的格式。

在 JavaScript 中拆分字符串并将其转换为日期

Date.parse()new Date() 函数都是基于 ISO 8601 扩展日期格式设计的。有时,如果日期不符合预期的格式,我们将不得不通过拆分日期字符串,提取值并将其转换为日期对象来手动进行计算。令人惊讶的是,new Date() 还支持将 date 参数作为参数传递,并且我们将 date 对象作为输出。

根据参数创建日期的语法:

new Date(yearValue, IndexOfMonth, dayValue, hours, minutes, seconds)

其中,

  • yearValue:应符合 ISO 8061 YYYY 格式。例如 2021。如果我们以 YY 格式指定一个值,它将会被错误地接受。例如,仅将 2021 提到 21 会被认为是 1921 年而不是 2021 年。
  • IndexOfMonth:从索引 0 开始。因此,从 Month 值中减去 1。例如,对于 3 月,该值为 3,但 monthIndex 将为 2(即 3-1 = 2)。本月指数通常应在 0-11 范围内
  • dayValue:表示一个月中的某天。它应在 1-31 范围内,具体取决于一个月中的天数。例如:对于 21-05-2021,日期值为 21
  • hours:一天中的小时。例如 10 点。
  • minutes:过去一个小时的分钟数
  • seconds:保留超过一分钟的秒数。

以下是一个函数,该函数采用具有自定义日期格式的字符串-DD-MM-YYYYTHH:mm:SS,并返回一个日期对象。

function convertFromStringToDate(responseDate) {
    let dateComponents = responseDate.split('T');
    let datePieces = dateComponents[0].split("-");
    let timePieces = dateComponents[1].split(":");
    return(new Date(datePieces[2], (datePieces[1] - 1), datePieces[0],
                         timePieces[0], timePieces[1], timePieces[2]))
}

convertFromStringToDate("21-03-2020T11:20:30")

输出:

Sat Mar 21 2020 11:20:30 GMT+0530 (India Standard Time)

结论

只要字符串符合 ISO 8601 格式,最常用的 new Date() 函数对于将字符串日期转换为日期对象非常有用。与 new Date() 相比,Date.parse() 函数的不同之处在于,它返回一个数值,该数值包含自 1970 年 1 月 1 日以来经过的毫秒数,该毫秒数直到作为字符串参数传递的日期为止已经过去了。通过分割日期字符串并将日期组成部分作为参数传递给 new Date() 函数,可以转换不同的日期格式。

相关文章 - JavaScript String

  • 在 JavaScript 编写多行字符串
  • 如何在 JavaScript 中删除字符串中的空格

Convert a String Into a Date in Javascript

  1. Use the new Date() Function to Convert String to Date in JavaScript
  2. Use the Date.parse() Function to Convert String to Date in JavaScript
  3. Split String and Convert It to Date in JavaScript
  4. Conclusion

At times it is needed to convert a string into a date format. The string may be a date value stored as a string in the database or a value returned from the API. In either case, this string value cannot be directly used in date pickers or input type date. Hence, the string will need to be converted to a date object to display in the HTML UI. Being in a string format, it is not possible to perform date-specific operations. Hence we need to convert the string to a date object. Here we list down a few ways to convert a string to a date:

  • new Date()
  • Date.parse()
  • Split and convert to Date

Use the new Date() Function to Convert String to Date in JavaScript

The most commonly used way to convert a string to date is with the new Date() function. new Date() takes arguments in various forms described below but returns a date object.

  1. No parameters as the argument. new Date() will return the current system date and time, including the timezone information in the local system time, if no parameter is passed to the new Date() function.
  2. Passing date object as the argument. The new Date() will return a date object as depicted by the date string passed as an argument.
  3. Passing a string date. The most interesting part of the new Date('2018-12-3') function is that it can convert a date passed in a string format as an argument into a date format. We will discuss this in detail.

Passing String Date as an Argument

When we pass a date in string format to the new Date(), it is converted into a date object. The string format needs to be YYYY-MM-DD, the ISO 8601 format, for it to work. Other date formats may not be converted to a date object by this method. For example, refer to the code as follows:

new Date("2021-05-23");
new Date("2020/2/29");
new Date("2020-14-03");
new Date("14-02-2021");

Output:

Sun May 23 2021 05:30:00 GMT+0530 (India Standard Time)
Sat Feb 29 2020 00:00:00 GMT+0530 (India Standard Time)
Invalid Date
Invalid Date

As you see from the above examples, the only accepted string format for the date is 2021-05-23 and 2020/2/29. The new Date() function can process strings in the format YYYY-MM-DD or YYYY/MM/DD. If we have a different string format that does not conform to ISO 8601 standards, the new Date() will not be able to parse the date and will return as an Invalid date.

Remarks

  • new Date() can be used to convert the string into a date only if it qualifies the ISO 8601 format YYYY-MM-DD hh:mm:ss.
  • For a different format that cannot be comprehended by new Date(), it is better to split the string and pass them as arguments into the new Date(), as introduce later in this article.
  • new Date() can also convert a string of the format 01 Mar 2020 12:30 or even MM DD YYYY HH:mm. In case we are using a value passed from the backend via API for conversion, we should make sure that the format passed is as understood by the new Date() function, and it is good to have a check that new Date() returns a valid date object. Else the code may break.

Use the Date.parse() Function to Convert String to Date in JavaScript

Date.parse() is an alternate option to convert the string date. It returns a numeric value instead of a date object. Hence it will require further processing if you expect a date object. It converts the parsed date to a number representing the milliseconds that have passed since 1-Jan-1970 midnight time. It is similar to the timestamp format with the difference that instead of seconds, Date.parse() returns a milliseconds value.

Date.parse("2020-11-21")
Date.parse("2019-01-01T12:30:00.000Z")
Date.parse("20-11-2021")
Date.parse("11-20-2021")

Output:

1605916800000
1546345800000
NaN
1637346600000

It is worthy to note that Date.parse() is the same as new Date() when it comes to the type of input values it can accept but offers a better hand checking if the date is of a valid format. Such a method comes in handy, especially when we are dealing with an API response value. In such cases, we may need to perform a check to ensure the value returned by the backend conforms to the date format accepted by the Date.parse() or even the new Date() function. Just an isNaN() check can help identify and safely land into the date conversion method.

let stringsFromAPI = ["2020-11-21", "20-11-2021"];

stringsFromAPI.forEach( (d) => {
    if (!isNaN(Date.parse(d))) {
        console.log(new Date(d));
    }    
})

Output:

Sat Nov 21 2020 05:30:00 GMT+0530 (India Standard Time)

Note that here the date 20-11-2021 is of the format DD-MM-YYYY. Hence, it will not be understood by the Date.parse() function nor by the new Date() function. Hence if the stringsFromAPI was a value coming from the backend, then the above function will convert only those dates that conform to the acceptable format. The !isNaN(Date.parse(d)) silently rejects the improper date value and logs the value that are successful in conversion.

Remarks

  • Date.parse() is similar to the new Date() except for the return type, which makes it suitable for checking if a date value is of a correct format and can also be used to assign a date by using the dateObj.setTime(Date.parse(DateString)).
  • Compared to the Unix Time Stamp, the Date.parse() returns milliseconds that can be used for precision comparison of dates even without converting them to actual date objects with new Date().
  • Date.parse() internally uses the new Date() for parsing of date, hence the formats accepted by the new Date() function will also be supported in the Date.parse() function.

Split String and Convert It to Date in JavaScript

Both the Date.parse() and the new Date() functions are designed based on the ISO 8601 extended date format. Sometimes, if the date does not conform to the expected format, we will have to manually work it out by splitting the date string, extracting the values, and convert them to a date object. Surprisingly, the new Date() also supports the date parameters be passed as arguments, and we get the date object as output.

The syntax for creating a date from arguments:

new Date(yearValue, IndexOfMonth, dayValue, hours, minutes, seconds)

Where,

  • yearValue: Should conform to the ISO 8061 YYYY format. For example, 2021. If we specify a value in the YY format, it will take it wrongly. For example, just mentioning 21 for 2021 will be taken as 1921 instead of 2021.
  • IndexOfMonth: Starts with the index 0. Hence, subtract 1 from the Month value. For example, for March, the value is 3, but monthIndex will be 2 (i.e. 3-1 = 2). Index of the month should typically lie in the 0-11 range
  • dayValue: Indicates the day of the month. It should lie in the range of 1-31, depending on the number of days in a month. For example: for 21-05-2021, the day value is 21
  • hours: The hour of the day. For example 10 O’clock.
  • minutes: The minutes past an hour.
  • seconds: Holds the second’s value past a minute.

The following is a function that takes a string having a custom date format - DD-MM-YYYYTHH:mm:SS and returns a date object.

function convertFromStringToDate(responseDate) {
    let dateComponents = responseDate.split('T');
    let datePieces = dateComponents[0].split("-");
    let timePieces = dateComponents[1].split(":");
    return(new Date(datePieces[2], (datePieces[1] - 1), datePieces[0],
                         timePieces[0], timePieces[1], timePieces[2]))
}

convertFromStringToDate("21-03-2020T11:20:30")

Output:

Sat Mar 21 2020 11:20:30 GMT+0530 (India Standard Time)

Conclusion

The most commonly used new Date() function is pretty useful to convert a string date into a date object, provided the string conforms to the ISO 8601 format. As compared to the new Date(), the Date.parse() function differs in a way that it returns a numeric value containing the milliseconds since January first of 1970 that elapsed till the date passed as a string argument. A different date format can be converted by splitting the date string and passing the date components as arguments to the new Date() function.

Contribute
DelftStack is a collective effort contributed by software geeks like you. If you like the article and would like to contribute to DelftStack by writing paid articles, you can check the write for us page.

Related Article - JavaScript String

  • JavaScript Remove the First Character From String
  • Remove Last Character From String in JavaScript