在 JavaScript 中使用异常终止一个 forEach 循环

与其他编程语言不同,JavaScript 编程语言带有各种 for 循环的变体,我们只能看到传统的 for 循环,它由 3 件事组成-初始化,条件以及递增或递减。我们必须遵循这三个要素,以使传统的 for 循环工作。这似乎很令人困惑,特别是如果你是编程新手。

JavaScript 为我们提供了一种编写 for 循环的新方法,也就是 forEach 循环。forEach 循环用于遍历数组。许多开发人员更喜欢使用 forEach 循环而不是传统的 for 循环来遍历数组,因为它更容易编写且可读性更高。

任何循环,无论是 for 循环还是 while 循环,都可以借助 break 语句终止。使用 forEach 循环遍历数组的唯一缺点是无法使用 break 关键字终止它。有时在程序执行过程中某些特定条件成立(真或假)时,我们想终止 forEach 循环。因此,为此,我们可以使用异常处理。

使用 JavaScript 中的 try...catch 块终止 forEach 循环

为了实现 array.forEach 循环中 break 语句提供的功能,我们可以使用 JavaScript 中提供的异常处理的概念。如果在运行程序时发生一些错误并避免不必要的程序崩溃,则异常处理就是处理异常情况。这是借助 try...catch 块完成的。

try 块是编写所有代码的地方。catch 块将包含用于处理异常的代码。

<!DOCTYPE html>
<html lang="en">
<head>
    <title>Document</title>
</head>
<body>
    <p id="errorMsg"></p>

    <script>
        var arr = [1, 2, 3, 4, 5]
        try {
        arr.forEach((element)=> {
            if (element === 4) throw "number is equal to four";
            console.log(element);
        });
        } 
        catch (e) {
            errorMsg = document.getElementById('errorMsg');
            errorMsg.innerHTML = "Error: " + e + ".";
        }
    </script>
</body>
</html>

输出

// The below output will be printed on the screen.
Error: number is equal to four.

// The below output will be printed inside the web browser console
1
2
3

这是我们的 HTML 5 文档。在 <body> 标签内。我们有一个段落标签,其中的 iderrorMsg。此段落标签将用于显示将由我们的 JavaScript 程序引发的错误消息。

<script> 标签内,我们有实际的程序。在这里,首先,我们声明了一个名为 arr 的数组,其中包含从 1 到 5 的元素。这里的主要目标是使用 forEach 循环对该数组进行迭代,当它到达 arr 数组中的元素 4 时中断循环。

try 块中,我们使用 forEach 循环遍历此数组。在此循环中,我们传入了匿名函数(也称为箭头函数)。在该函数内部,我们有一个 if 语句来检查数组中特定位置的元素是否为 4。如果不是 4,它将在网络浏览器的控制台中打印该元素。否则,将抛出异常,显示 number is equal to four

try 块引发的该异常将被 catch 块捕获,并存储在变量 e 中。现在,借助称为 innerHTML 的 HTML 属性,可以显示 p 标签内变量 e 内的错误消息。这是在 JavaScript 中遍历数组时在 forEach 循环内实现 break 功能的整个过程。

相关文章 - JavaScript Loop

  • JavaScript 遍历数组

Terminate a forEach Loop Using Exceptions in JavaScript

The JavaScript programming language comes with various variations of for loop, unlike other programming languages, we only get to see the traditional for loop, which consists of 3 things - initialization, condition, and increment or decrement. We have to follow these 3 elements to make a traditional for loop work. It can seem quite confusing, especially if you are new to programming.

JavaScript has provided us with a new way of writing the for loop, and that is the forEach loop. The forEach loop is used to iterate over an array. Many developers prefer using the forEach loop over the traditional for loop to iterate over an array because it is much easier to write and is much more readable.

Any loop, either a for loop or a while loop, can be terminated with the help of a break statement. The only drawback with using the forEach loop to iterate over an array is that it can’t be terminated using the break keyword. There are times where we want to terminate a forEach loop when some particular condition holds (either true or false) during the execution of the program. So, for that, we can use exception handling.

Terminate a forEach Loop Using the try-catch Block in JavaScript

To achieve the functionality provided by the break statement inside the array.forEach loop, we can use the concept of exception handling, which is available in JavaScript. The exception handling is nothing but handling abnormal conditions if some error occurs while running a program and avoiding unnecessary program crashes. This is done with the help of a try-catch block.

The try block is where you will be writing all of the code. And the catch block will contain the code which will be used to handle the exception.

<!DOCTYPE html>
<html lang="en">
<head>
    <title>Document</title>
</head>
<body>
    <p id="errorMsg"></p>

    <script>
        var arr = [1, 2, 3, 4, 5]
        try {
        arr.forEach((element)=> {
            if (element === 4) throw "number is equal to four";
            console.log(element);
        });
        } 
        catch (e) {
            errorMsg = document.getElementById('errorMsg');
            errorMsg.innerHTML = "Error: " + e + ".";
        }
    </script>
</body>
</html>

Output

// The below output will be printed on the screen.
Error: number is equal to four.

// The below output will be printed inside the web browser console
1
2
3

This is our HTML 5 document. Inside the <body> tag. We have one paragraph tag and the id of which is errorMsg. This paragraph tag will be used to show the error message which will be thrown by our JavaScript program.

Inside the <script> tag, we have our actual program. Here, first, we have declared an array called arr, which contains elements from 1 to 5. The main goal here is to iterate over this array using the forEach loop and then break the loop when we see the element 4 inside the arr array.

In the try block, we use a forEach loop to iterate over this array. Inside this loop, we have passed in an anonymous function (also known as arrow function). Inside that function, we have an if statement to check if the element at a particular position in an array is 4 or not. If it is not 4, it will print that element in the web browser’s console; otherwise, it will throw an exception, saying that the number is equal to four.

This exception thrown by the try block will be caught by the catch block and stored inside the variable e. Now we can show the error message present inside the variable e inside the p tag with the help of an HTML property called innerHTML. This is an entire process of implementing a break functionality inside the forEach loop while iterating over an array in JavaScript.

Contribute
DelftStack is a collective effort contributed by software geeks like you. If you like the article and would like to contribute to DelftStack by writing paid articles, you can check the write for us page.

Related Article - JavaScript Loop

  • JavaScript Loop Through an Array