在 JavaScript 中格式化数字

来自不同国家和地区的人们采用不同的方式来格式化数字。在某些情况下,我们可能希望根据访问者访问我们网站的世界哪个部分来格式化我们网站上的数字。

如果你尝试根据用户的位置手动执行此操作,则可能会变得具有挑战性。但是不用担心,你不必手动执行此操作,因为在 JavaScript 中有一种更好的方法来格式化数字,那就是在 toLocalString() 方法的帮助下。此方法返回一个字符串,该字符串具有特定于语言的数字表示形式。

使用 JavaScript 中的 toLocaleString() 方法格式化数字

它需要两个参数,第一个是 locales,第二个是 options。这两个参数都是可选的,这意味着它不是强制性的。你也可以直接运行该方法而无需传递这些参数。如果你想格式化数字,在这种情况下,我们这样做,那么我们需要传递这些参数。

让我们首先了解每个参数的含义,然后我们将看到如何在我们的代码中使用它们。

1. locales 参数

localestoLocalString() 方法接受的第一个参数。它表示一串 BCP 47 语言标签或一组此类字符串。BCP 47 语言标签是识别人类语言的代码。

例如,标签 ar-SA 表示它用于由 ar 表示的阿拉伯语,在沙特阿拉伯 SA 地区使用。因此,如果你将此字符串作为第一个参数传递,它将格式化数字,使其以阿拉伯语书写。

let eArabic = (number => {
  return number.toLocaleString('ar-SA');
});

console.log(eArabic(12345));

输出:

١٢٬٣٤٥

在这里,我们创建了一个名为 eArabic 的箭头函数,它接受一个数字作为参数。现在,我们将数字 12345 传递给这个箭头函数。此函数旨在借助 toLocalString() 方法将数字 12345 转换为其阿拉伯语等效格式 ar-SA

你可以直接复制并粘贴上面的整个代码,然后在浏览器的控制台窗口中运行它以查看输出。

要了解有关所有 BCP 47 语言标签的更多信息,你可以查看此资源

你还可以将 undefined 作为语言环境传递。它将采用访问者浏览器中设置的默认语言。因此,如果有人将浏览器的语言更改为德语,则会以德语格式显示数字。

2. options 参数

options 是一个对象,它是 toLocalString() 方法接受的第二个参数。由于它是一个对象,因此该参数可以采用各种属性,例如 currencycurrencySignstyleunitDisplay 等等。

让我们以上面采用的相同示例为例,让我们尝试修改它以理解 options 参数。以前,我们只取数字 12345,然后将其格式化为阿拉伯语。现在让我们也给数字一个货币格式,通过给它一个带有货币符号的 currency 样式,并在 options 的帮助下在该数字的末尾添加一些小数位。

let eArabic = (number => {
  return number.toLocaleString('ar-SA', {style: 'currency',currency: 'SAR', minimumFractionDigits: 3});
});

console.log(eArabic(12345));

输出:

١٢٬٣٤٥٫٠٠٠ ر.س

在本例中,对于 toLocaleString() 方法,我们现在还添加了 options 参数,它是一个对象。目前,它需要 3 个属性,style 属性将以货币格式格式化数字,currency 属性将告诉它代表哪种货币,在这种情况下,沙特里亚尔 SARminimumFractionDigits 属性表示有多少要在数字末尾显示的小数位数。

在这里,如果你将 style 属性设置为货币值,你还必须为属性 currency 设置一些值。否则,你将收到类型错误:Currency code is required with currency style.

在上述程序的输出中,我们首先有货币名称沙特里亚尔 ر.س.。如果它是美元,那么它将是 $ 符号。然后我们有阿拉伯语 ١٢٬٣٤٥ 的数字本身。如果是美元,那么它将是 12,345。最后,我们在点之后的 3 个小数位在阿拉伯语中表示为 ٫٠٠٠,美元表示为 .000

// USD format
$12,345.000

在这里,我们还为你提供美国货币格式的输出,以便将其与沙特阿拉伯货币格式的输出轻松关联,因为人们可能难以理解阿拉伯语言。

你可以在代码中使用任何这些参数和对象属性,具体取决于你希望如何格式化你的数字。你还可以访问本文中提供的各种链接,以了解有关在 JavaScript 中格式化数字的 toLocalString() 的更多信息。

相关文章 - JavaScript Number

  • 在 JavaScript 中生成指定范围内的随机数

Format a Number in JavaScript

There are various ways people from different countries and regions follow different ways of formatting a number. And there could be cases where we want to format a number on our websites based on which part of the world the visitor accesses our website.

It could become challenging if you try to do this manually based on the user’s location. But no worry, you don’t have to do it manually since there is a better way of formatting a number in JavaScript, and that is with the help of the toLocalString() method. This method returns a string with the language-specific representation of the number.

Format Numbers With the toLocaleString() Method in JavaScript

It takes two parameters first is locales, and the second is options. Both these parameters are optional, meaning it’s not mandatory. You can directly run the method without passing those parameters as well. If you want to format the numbers, in this case, we do, then we need to pass those parameters.

Let’s first understand what each of these parameters means, and then later, we will see how to use them in our code.

1. The locales Parameter

The locales is the first parameter which the toLocalString() method accepts. It represents a string of BCP 47 language tags or an array of such strings. The BCP 47 language tag is a code to identify human languages.

For example, the tag ar-SA says that it is for the Arabic language represented by ar, spoken in the region of Saudi Arabia SA. So, If you pass this string as the first argument, it will format the number so that it is written in the Arabic language.

let eArabic = (number => {
  return number.toLocaleString('ar-SA');
});

console.log(eArabic(12345));

Output:

١٢٬٣٤٥

Here, we have created an arrow function called eArabic, which takes a number as a parameter. Now, we are passing the number 12345 to this arrow function. This function aims to convert the number 12345 into its Arabic equivalent format ar-SA with the help of the toLocalString() method.

You can directly copy and paste the entire code above and run it in your browser’s console window to see the output.

To learn more about all the BCP 47 languages tags, you can take a look at this resource.

You can also pass undefined as locales. It will take the default language that is set in the visitor’s browser. So, If someone has changed the language of their browser to German, this will show the number in German format.

2. The options Parameter

The options is an object, and it is the second parameter which the toLocalString() method accepts. Since it’s an object, this parameter can take various properties like currency, currencySign, style, unitDisplay, and many more.

Let’s take the same example which we have taken above, and let’s try to modify it to understand the options parameter. Previously, We just take the number 12345 and then format it to the Arabic language. Now let’s also give the number a currency formatting by giving it a style of currency with currency symbol and add some fraction digits at the end of that number with the help of options.

let eArabic = (number => {
  return number.toLocaleString('ar-SA', {style: 'currency',currency: 'SAR', minimumFractionDigits: 3});
});

console.log(eArabic(12345));

Output:

١٢٬٣٤٥٫٠٠٠ ر.س

In this case, to the toLocaleString() method, we have now also added the options parameter, which is an object. Currently, it takes 3 properties, the style property will format the number in currency format, the currency property will tell which currency it represents, in this case, Saudi Riyal SAR and the minimumFractionDigits property represents how many fractional digits you want to show at the end of the number.

Here, if you are setting the style property with the value currency, you also have to set the property currency with some value. Otherwise, you will get a type error: Currency code is required with currency style.

In the output of the above program, we first have the currency name Saudi Riyal ر.س.. If it was USD, then it would be the $ symbol. Then we have the number itself in Arabic language ١٢٬٣٤٥. If it was in USD, then it would be 12,345. At last, we have the 3 fractional digits after the dot which is represented in the Arabic language as ٫٠٠٠ and USD as .000.

// USD format
$12,345.000

Here, we are also providing you with the output for the United States currency format to easily relate it with the output of the Saudi Arabian currency format since it might be difficult for people to understand the Arabian language.

You can use any of these parameters and object properties in your code depending upon how you want to format your number. You can also visit the various links provided in this article to learn more about the toLocalString() to format a number in JavaScript.

Contribute
DelftStack is a collective effort contributed by software geeks like you. If you like the article and would like to contribute to DelftStack by writing paid articles, you can check the write for us page.

Related Article - JavaScript Number

  • Format a Number as a Currency String in JavaScript