在 Python 中禁用路径长度限制

在编程中,我们处理必须使用外部文件和模块的问题。因此,我们需要知道文件路径指定的磁盘上存储的文件的位置。

Python 在编译期间引发的一个非常常见的错误是关于文件名或文件的路径长度太长。这是因为路径名或文件名只能具有大约 260 个字符的特定长度。对于 macOS 或基于 Linux 的系统,此问题不是问题,仅在 Windows 中存在。由于 Windows OS 初始版本中的路径限制限制,所以设置了此限制。

在 Python 中,我们可以选择在安装 Python 后禁用此长度限制。启用此功能可能有助于程序之间的跨平台兼容性,并允许程序在较旧版本的 Windows 上正常运行。

为了克服这些问题,我们可以缩短路径或文件名以满足所需的长度。

但是,如果有人想取消此限制,则不一定是一件坏事。如果有人在超出路径长度限制的目录中安装了 Python,则建议在提供该选项时将其禁用。

鉴于没有人几乎不能在初始 Windows 版本上工作,因此在运行代码时禁用路径限制不会有任何有害影响,并且还可以帮助调试以避免此类问题。

Windows 中的 Python 禁用路径长度限制

相关文章 - Python Path

  • 如何获得当前 Python 脚本文件的文件夹路径
  • 在 Python 中设置文件路径
  • Python 中的相对路径
  • 更改 PythonPath

Disable Path Length Limit in Python

In programming, we deal with problems where we have to work with external files and modules. Therefore we need to know the location of files stored on the disk specified by the file path.

A very common error raised in Python during compilation is about file name or path length of file being too long. This is because the pathname or the filename can only be of a specific length which is around 260 characters. This issue is not a problem for macOS or Linux-based systems and exists only in Windows. This limit was put in place due to the path limit restriction in the initial versions of Windows OS.

In Python, we get the option to disable this length limit after installing Python. Enabling this might help cross-platform compatibility between programs and allow the program to run normally on an older version of Windows.

To overcome such issues, we can shorten the path or filename to meet the required length.

However, if someone wants to remove this limit, then it is not necessarily a bad thing. If someone has installed Python in a directory that exceeds the path length limit, then it is recommended to disable it when the option is provided.

Given that no one hardly works on initial Windows versions, disabling the path limit does not have any harmful effect while running your code and can also help in debugging to avoid such issues.

Python Disable Path Length Limit in Windows

Contribute
DelftStack is a collective effort contributed by software geeks like you. If you like the article and would like to contribute to DelftStack by writing paid articles, you can check the write for us page.

Related Article - Python Path

  • Get Filename From Path in Python
  • Relative Path in Python