在 Javascript 中将 ASCII 转换为十六进制

  1. 在 Javascript 中将 ASCII 字符转换为十六进制
  2. 在 Javascript 中将 ASCII 字符串转换为等效的十六进制
  3. 将十六进制转换回 ASCII

制定美国信息交换标准代码 (ASCII) 的主要目的是在设备之间交换数据。ASCII 是具有人类可读字符的代码表,它由映射到特定数字的每个字符(所谓的 ASCII 代码)组成。与计算机使用的二进制基数系统一样,我们在通过通道传输数据时使用十六进制数系统以实现无差错通信。ASCII 是一种人类可读的格式,计算机内部使用的格式不同。让我们看看如何使用 Javascript 将 ASCII 值转换为十六进制值。

在 Javascript 中将 ASCII 字符转换为十六进制

转换很容易,不需要代码中的很多步骤。让我们看看将 ASCII 字符转换为十六进制的代码。

window.onload = function () {
    convertASCIItoHex("A");
    convertASCIItoHex("n");
    convertASCIItoHex("!");
}

function convertASCIItoHex(asciiVal) {
    let asciiCode = asciiVal.charCodeAt(0);
    let hexValue = asciiCode.toString(16);
    console.log("0x" + hexValue);
}

输出:

0x41
0x6e
0x21

在本节中,我们将处理将 ASCII 字符转换为其等效的十六进制字符。我们将转换过程解释如下。

  • 在 javascript 的 window.onload() 函数中,我们调用 convertASCIItoHex() 函数将 ASCII 值转换为 javascript 中的十六进制值。window.onload() 函数在页面加载时调用,以便在页面加载后立即执行该函数。
  • convertASCIItoHex() 函数中,我们传递需要转换的 ASCII 值。asciiVal.charCodeAt(0) 返回在 convertASCIItoHex() 函数中作为参数传递的输入值的 ASCII 码。ASCII 表包含到人类可读字母格式的映射以及与它们相关联的代码。它看起来像下面这样。
    十进制 十六进制代码 象征 描述
    65 41 一种 大写 A
    66 42 大写 B
    67 43 C 大写 C
    68 44 D 大写 D
    69 45 大写 E
    70 46 F 大写 F
    71 47 G 大写 G
    72 48 H 大写 H
    73 49 一世 大写 I
    74 4A J 大写 J

    十进制列表示 ASCII 值的代码。例如,A 的 ASCII 码是 65。函数 asciiVal.charCodeAt(0) 返回 asciiVal 的 ASCII 值,该值持有值 A。因此它返回 65。我们将 ASCII 代码存储在 asciiCode 变量中。

  • 一旦我们得到参数值对应的 ASCII 码,我们下一步就是将其转换为十六进制。在片段 asciiCode.toString(16) 中,.toString(16) 函数将十六进制值作为字符串返回。我们将十六进制字符串值存储在 hexValue 变量中。
  • 在最后一步,我们使用 Javascript 的 console.log() 函数对传递的属性的十六进制等效项进行控制台。

笔记

  • 0x 关键字附加到转换后的十六进制值可能看起来很奇怪。javascript 中常用的方法是将数字标识为十六进制值(有关更多详细信息,请参阅 MSDN 文档)。为了你的业务目的,我们可以避免它并遵循 .toString(16) 函数输出的十六进制值。

  • toString(16) 函数是 JavaScript 中的多用途函数。我们可以用它来转换为不同的数基系统。我们需要将十进制基数或基数作为参数传递给函数。如果我们期待 ASCII 代码的二进制等价物,那么 toString(2) 函数将返回十进制值的二进制等价物。在返回二进制值之前,该函数会将对象类型转换为字符串。因此,.toString() 的返回类型是字符串。

  • 上面的代码只考虑了一种字符转换。因此,如果你提供一个字符串作为输入,例如 convertASCIItoHex("HELLO"),该函数将返回第一个字母 H 的十六进制值。它由 asciiVal.charCodeAt(0) 中的函数 charCode(0) 完成。

在 Javascript 中将 ASCII 字符串转换为等效的十六进制

我们生活中比较常见的需求是将一个字符串作为一个整体转换成十六进制的等价值而不是一个字符。以下程序将一个字符串作为输入,并为每个字符返回一个等效的十六进制字符串作为输出。每个十六进制值将由 ' ' 分隔,以便更好地阅读和理解。

window.onload = function () {
    convertASCIItoHex("Hello!");
    convertASCIItoHex("Good Morning World!!");
}

function convertASCIItoHex(asciiString) {
    let hex = '';
    let tempASCII, tempHex;
    asciiString.split('').map( i => {
        tempASCII = i.charCodeAt(0)
        tempHex = tempASCII.toString(16);
        hex = hex + tempHex + ' ';
    });
    hex = hex.trim();
    console.log(hex);
}

输出:

48 65 6c 6c 6f 21
47 6f 6f 64 20 4d 6f 72 6e 69 6e 67 20 57 6f 72 6c 64 21 21

这里 convertASCIItoHex() 返回与提供的字符串输入相对应的十六进制字符串值。它将返回一个 String 类型的值。为了可读性和清晰度,十六进制代码字符串用空格分隔。让我们看看我们遵循的步骤。

  • 如上一节所述,我们调用 javascript 的 window.onload() 函数,然后通过传递字符串 "Hello!" 调用 convertASCIItoHex("Hello!") 函数作为它的参数。
  • convertASCIItoHex() 函数中,我们将输入字符串拆分为字符,以便于处理它们。因此,在这个阶段,"Hello!" 字符串转换为 ["H", "e", "l", "l", "o", "!"],一个字符串数组。
  • 接下来,我们使用 javascript 的 .map() 运算符对数组的每个元素应用 ASCII 到十六进制转换。它遍历每个元素并在每个元素上执行一个函数。我们将函数作为内联函数或箭头函数传递。
  • 在函数中,我们使用 charCodeAt(0) 来获取当前数组元素的 ASCII 码。然后,在 ASCII 代码对象上,我们应用 toString(16) 将 ASCII 值转换为十六进制基数。然后我们将十六进制值推送到 hex 数组,即输出数组。请注意,为了便于阅读,我们在连续转换之间使用了空格。你可能更喜欢使用 ,; 业务需要的分隔符。
  • 使用 hex = hex + tempHex + ' ' 我们在每个元素转换后附加一个空格。因此,最终结果将有一个尾随空格。为了删除它,我们使用了 javascript 的 .trim() 函数。
  • 最后,转换后的字符串数组通过 console.log(hex) 记录到控制台。

将十六进制转换回 ASCII

现在,当我们准备好十六进制值时,出现的问题是我们如何确认输出是否符合预期。我们使用 javascript 的 fromCharCode(ASCIICode) 函数实现了该功能的核心,该函数返回与传入参数的 ASCII 代码对应的 ASCII 字符。在这里,我们可以使用以下代码。

window.onload = function () {
    convertASCIItoHex("48 65 6c 6c 6f 21");
    convertASCIItoHex("47 6f 6f 64 20 4d 6f 72 6e 69 6e 67 20 57 6f 72 6c 64 21 21");
}
function convertHexToASCII(hexString) {
    let stringOut = '';
    hexString.split(' ').map( (i) => {
        tempAsciiCode = parseInt(i, 16);
        stringOut = stringOut + String.fromCharCode(tempAsciiCode);
    });
    console.log(stringOut);
}

输出:

Hello!
Good Morning World!!

一些方法在这里发挥了作用。parseInt(i, 16) 将基数 16 的输入转换为十进制基数。因此,使用这种方法,我们可以获得十六进制值的 ASCII 代码。而 String.fromCharCode(tempAsciiCode) 将作为参数传递给该函数的 ASCII 代码,并返回与该代码对应的 ASCII 字符。

评论

  • 最常用的人类可读形式的 ASCII 包括字母、数字和特殊字符。使用 javascript 代码,我们打算涵盖这些字符集。我们无法在 Javascript 中测试某些 ASCII 代码,例如 ACK:确认字符、ETX:文本结束字符等。
  • 根据 ES8 标准,Javascript 字符串变量最多可以容纳 253-1 个字符。这相当于 Chrome 中大约 512MB 的数据和 Firefox 中大约 1GB 的数据。因此,我们可以使用我们的代码转换更长的字符串值。

相关文章 - JavaScript Hex

  • JavaScript 将 ASCII 码转换为十六进制码

Convert ASCII to Hexadecimal in JavaScript

  1. Convert an ASCII Character to Hexadecimal in JavaScript
  2. Converting a String of ASCII Into Hexadecimal Equivalent in JavaScript
  3. Convert Hexadecimal Back to ASCII

The main intention to develop the American Standard Code for Information Interchange (ASCII) was to exchange data between devices. ASCII is a code table that has human-readable characters and it consists of each character mapped to specific numbers (the so-called ASCII codes). Like the binary base number systems used by computers, we use hexadecimal number systems while transmitting data over a channel for error-free communication. ASCII is a human-readable format, which is internally used differently by computers. Let’s see how we can convert an ASCII value to a hex value with JavaScript.

Convert an ASCII Character to Hexadecimal in JavaScript

The conversion is easy and doesn’t require many steps in the code. Let us look at the code for converting an ASCII character to hexadecimal.

window.onload = function () {
    convertASCIItoHex("A");
    convertASCIItoHex("n");
    convertASCIItoHex("!");
}

function convertASCIItoHex(asciiVal) {
    let asciiCode = asciiVal.charCodeAt(0);
    let hexValue = asciiCode.toString(16);
    console.log("0x" + hexValue);
}

Output:

0x41
0x6e
0x21

In this section, we are dealing with converting an ASCII character into the hexadecimal equivalent for it. We have the conversion process explained as follows.

  • In the window.onload() function of javascript, we call the convertASCIItoHex() function for translating the ASCII value to Hexadecimal in javascript. window.onload() function is called on page load so that the function gets executed as soon as the page loads.
  • In the convertASCIItoHex() function, we pass the ASCII value that needs to be converted. asciiVal.charCodeAt(0) returns the ASCII code of the input value passed in the convertASCIItoHex() function as parameter. The ASCII table contains a mapping to the human-readable letter format and a code associated with them. It looks like the following.
    DECIMAL HEXCODE Symbol Description
    65 41 A Uppercase A
    66 42 B Uppercase B
    67 43 C Uppercase C
    68 44 D Uppercase D
    69 45 E Uppercase E
    70 46 F Uppercase F
    71 47 G Uppercase G
    72 48 H Uppercase H
    73 49 I Uppercase I
    74 4A J Uppercase J

    The decimal column represents the code for the ASCII value. For instance, the ASCII code for A is 65. The function asciiVal.charCodeAt(0) returns the ASCII value of asciiVal which is holding the value A. Hence it returns 65. We store the ASCII code in the asciiCode variable.

  • Once we get the ASCII code corresponding to the parameter value, our next step is to convert it into hexadecimal. In the snippet asciiCode.toString(16), the .toString(16) function returns the hexadecimal value as a string. We store the hexadecimal string value in the hexValue variable.
  • In the final step, we console the hexadecimal equivalent of the passed attribute using the console.log() function of JavaScript.

Note

  • It may appear weird to append the 0x keyword to the converted Hexadecimal value. It is a common approach followed in javascript to identify the number as a hexadecimal value (Refer MSDN Docs for more details). For your business purpose, we can avoid it and follow the hexadecimal value output from the .toString(16) function.

  • The toString(16) function is a multipurpose function in javascript. We can use it to convert to different number base systems. We need to pass the decimal base or radix as a parameter to the function. If we look forward to a binary equivalent of the ASCII code, then the toString(2) function will return the binary equivalent of the decimal value. The function will typecast the object to a string before returning the binary value. And hence, return type of .toString() is string.

  • The above code considers just one character conversion. Hence if you give a string as input like convertASCIItoHex("HELLO"), the function will return the hexadecimal value of the first letter “H”. It is done by the function charCode(0) in asciiVal.charCodeAt(0).

Converting a String of ASCII Into Hexadecimal Equivalent in JavaScript

The more common requirements we get in our lives are to convert a string as a whole into the hexadecimal equivalent value rather than a character. The following program takes a string as an input and returns a string of hexadecimal equivalent for each character as output. Each hex value will be separated by ' ' a space for better readability and understanding.

window.onload = function () {
    convertASCIItoHex("Hello!");
    convertASCIItoHex("Good Morning World!!");
}

function convertASCIItoHex(asciiString) {
    let hex = '';
    let tempASCII, tempHex;
    asciiString.split('').map( i => {
        tempASCII = i.charCodeAt(0)
        tempHex = tempASCII.toString(16);
        hex = hex + tempHex + ' ';
    });
    hex = hex.trim();
    console.log(hex);
}

Ouput:

48 65 6c 6c 6f 21
47 6f 6f 64 20 4d 6f 72 6e 69 6e 67 20 57 6f 72 6c 64 21 21

Here the convertASCIItoHex() returns a hexadecimal string value corresponding to the string input provided. It will return a value of type String. The string of hex codes is separated by spaces for readability and clarity. Let us look at the steps we followed.

  • As discussed in the previous section, we call the window.onload() function of javascript and then call the convertASCIItoHex("Hello!") function by passing a string "Hello!" as a parameter to it.
  • In the convertASCIItoHex() function, we split the input string into characters to make it easy to process them. Hence, at this phase, the "Hello!" string converts to ["H", "e", "l", "l", "o", "!"], a string array.
  • Next, we apply “the ASCII to hex conversion” on each element of the array with the .map() operator of javascript. It iterates through each element and executes a function on each of them. We pass the function as an inline function or arrow function.
  • In the function, we use charCodeAt(0) to get the current array element’s ASCII code. Then, on the ASCII code object, we apply the toString(16) to convert the ASCII value to a hexadecimal base. Then we push the hexadecimal value to the hex array, the output array. Note that we use a space between the consecutive conversion for readability sake. You may also prefer using , or ; separator as demanded by the business needs.
  • With hex = hex + tempHex + ' ' we append a space after each element conversion. Hence, the final result will be having a trailing space. In order to remove that, we use the .trim() function of javascript.
  • Finally, the converted string array is logged into the console with the console.log(hex).

Convert Hexadecimal Back to ASCII

Now, as we have the hexadecimal values ready, the question that arises is how do we confirm that the output is as expected. We achieve the core of the functionality with the fromCharCode(ASCIICode) function of javascript that returns the ASCII character corresponding to the ASCII code passed in the parameter. Here, we can use the following code.

window.onload = function () {
    convertASCIItoHex("48 65 6c 6c 6f 21");
    convertASCIItoHex("47 6f 6f 64 20 4d 6f 72 6e 69 6e 67 20 57 6f 72 6c 64 21 21");
}
function convertHexToASCII(hexString) {
    let stringOut = '';
    hexString.split(' ').map( (i) => {
        tempAsciiCode = parseInt(i, 16);
        stringOut = stringOut + String.fromCharCode(tempAsciiCode);
    });
    console.log(stringOut);
}

Output:

Hello!
Good Morning World!!

A couple of methods do the magic here. parseInt(i, 16) converts an input of base 16 to decimal base. Hence, with this method, we get the ASCII code for the hex value. And the String.fromCharCode(tempAsciiCode) takes the ASCII code passed as a parameter to this function and returns the ASCII character corresponding to the code.

Remarks

  • The most commonly used human-readable form of ASCII includes Alphabets, numbers, and special characters. With the javascript codes, we intend to cover these character sets. We cannot test certain ASCII codes in JavaScript, like the ACK: Acknowledge character, ETX: End of Text character, etc.
  • JavaScript string variable can hold a length of maximum 253-1 characters as per ES8 standards. And that amounts to roughly 512MB of data in chrome and around a Gigabyte of data in Firefox. Hence, we can convert longer string values using our code.
Contribute
DelftStack is a collective effort contributed by software geeks like you. If you like the article and would like to contribute to DelftStack by writing paid articles, you can check the write for us page.

Related Article - JavaScript Hex

  • JavaScript Convert ASCII Code to Hex Code