在 JavaScript 中跟蹤滑鼠位置

  1. JavaScript 中跟蹤滑鼠事件的各種方法
  2. 在 JavaScript 中使用 PageXPageYclientXclientY 跟蹤滑鼠位置

為了在 JavaScript 中跟蹤滑鼠移動,我們使用了一個事件監聽器。事件偵聽器是不斷偵聽正在發生的變化的東西。例如,mousedown 事件僅在使用者單擊滑鼠按鈕時觸發。

JavaScript 中有各種可用的滑鼠事件,其中我們將關注 mousemove 事件,因為我們要跟蹤滑鼠位置。要檢視滑鼠事件的完整列表,你可以訪問滑鼠事件 MDN 文件

JavaScript 中跟蹤滑鼠事件的各種方法

要跟蹤滑鼠位置,我們必須在瀏覽器標籤頁中找到它的 x 軸(水平位置)和 y 軸(垂直位置)。你可能知道瀏覽器的左上角用 (0,0) 表示。如果你水平移動滑鼠,它的 x 位置會改變,如果你垂直移動滑鼠,它的 y 位置會改變。

有兩種不同的方法可以獲取瀏覽器標籤頁中滑鼠的這些 xy 位置,這些方法如下。

  1. 如果要跟蹤滑鼠相對於網頁大小的位置,請使用 pageXpageY
  2. 如果你想根據螢幕的可見區域跟蹤滑鼠位置,請使用 clientXclientY

在 JavaScript 中使用 PageXPageYclientXclientY 跟蹤滑鼠位置

讓我們通過下面的例子來理解這兩種方式。

<!DOCTYPE html>
<html lang="en">
<head>
    <meta charset="UTF-8">
    <meta http-equiv="X-UA-Compatible" content="IE=edge">
    <meta name="viewport" content="width=device-width, initial-scale=1.0">
    <title>Document</title>
</head>
<body>
    <div style="height: 1000px;">Div with height 1000px...</div>
    <script src="./script.js"></script>
</body>
</html>

在這裡,我們有一個 HTML 文件。在 body 標籤內,我們有一個帶有一些文字的 div 元素和一個 1000pxheight。我們為這個 div 元素賦予如此高的高度是有原因的。通過為 div 提供這麼多高度,我們將在網頁內得到一個滾動條,這對於說明上述兩種跟蹤滑鼠移動的方式是必要的。

然後我們有一個指令碼標籤,將下面的指令碼連結到 HTML 文件。

function mousemove(event){
    console.log("pageX: ",event.pageX, 
    "pageY: ", event.pageY, 
    "clientX: ", event.clientX, 
    "clientY:", event.clientY)
}

window.addEventListener('mousemove', mousemove);

我們使用指令碼檔案中的 addEventListener 函式向視窗物件新增了 mousemove 事件。這個函式有兩個引數,第一個引數是我們要新增的事件。第二個引數是事件觸發後將執行的函式。

在本例中,我們建立了函式 mousemove(),並將其作為回撥傳遞給事件偵聽器。此函式將 event 作為引數。這個 event 變數將提供滑鼠更新後的 xy 位置。你可以給 mousemove() 函式取任何名字,但你必須將確切的事件名稱傳遞給事件偵聽器;否則,它將無法工作。

mousemove() 函式中,我們只有 console.log() 使用 event.pageXevent.pageYevent.clientXevent.clientY 的滑鼠值。下面的螢幕截圖說明了上述程式碼的輸出。

在 javascript 中跟蹤滑鼠位置

檢視控制檯中的輸出,你不會看到任何區別,因為 pageX,clientX 顯示相同的值,而 pageYclientY 顯示相同的值。我們還沒有滾動頁面,所以我們得到了相同的值。

如果滾動頁面然後檢查值,則值會有所不同。下面的螢幕截圖說明了這一點。

在 javascript 中跟蹤滑鼠位置

滾動頁面後,事件 pageXpageY 提供的值大於事件 clientXclientY 提供的值。這是因為 pageXpageY 從網頁的開頭計算 xy 值,而 clientXclientY 根據螢幕的可見部分計算值。

稍後,你還可以獲取這些滑鼠位置並將它們應用於 HTML 元素(通過更新元素的左值和上值),以便滑鼠游標移動到哪裡,元素也將跟隨它。為此,你還必須使用其他滑鼠事件。

現在,你可能會遇到關於在實踐中使用這些滑鼠事件中的哪一個的問題,答案是這取決於用例。如果你只想在螢幕的可見區域內跟蹤滑鼠位置,請使用 clientXclientY。否則,你可以使用 pageXpageY 滑鼠事件來計算從網頁開頭開始的滑鼠位置。

相關文章 - JavaScript Mouse Position

Track Mouse Position in JavaScript

  1. Various Ways of Tracking Mouse Events in JavaScript
  2. Tracking Mouse Position Using PageX, PageY, and clientX, clientY in JavaScript

To track mouse movement in JavaScript, we make use of an event listener. An event listener is something that keeps on listening for the changes which are happening. For example, a mousedown event is only triggered when a user clicks on the mouse button.

There are various mouse events available in JavaScript, out of which we will be focusing on the mousemove event as we want to track mouse position. To see a full list of mouse events, you can visit the Mouse Events MDN docs.

Various Ways of Tracking Mouse Events in JavaScript

To track the mouse position, we have to find its x-axis (horizontal position) and y-axis (vertical position) inside the browser’s tab. You might be aware that the top-left corner of the browser is represented with (0,0). If you move the mouse horizontally, its x position will change, and if you move the mouse vertically, its y position will change.

There are two different ways of getting these x and y positions of the mouse within the browser’s tab, and these ways are as follows.

  1. If you want to track mouse positions relative to the size of the webpage, use pageX and pageY.
  2. If you want to track mouse position based on the screen’s visible area, use clientX and clientY.

Tracking Mouse Position Using PageX, PageY, and clientX, clientY in JavaScript

Let’s understand both these ways with the below example.

<!DOCTYPE html>
<html lang="en">
<head>
    <meta charset="UTF-8">
    <meta http-equiv="X-UA-Compatible" content="IE=edge">
    <meta name="viewport" content="width=device-width, initial-scale=1.0">
    <title>Document</title>
</head>
<body>
    <div style="height: 1000px;">Div with height 1000px...</div>
    <script src="./script.js"></script>
</body>
</html>

Here, we have an HTML document. Inside the body tag, we have a div element with some text and a height of 1000px. There is a reason why we have given this much height to this div element. By providing this much height to the div, we will get a scroll bar inside the webpage, and this is necessary to illustrate both the above ways of tracking mouse movement.

Then we have a script tag that links the below script to the HTML document.

function mousemove(event){
    console.log("pageX: ",event.pageX, 
    "pageY: ", event.pageY, 
    "clientX: ", event.clientX, 
    "clientY:", event.clientY)
}

window.addEventListener('mousemove', mousemove);

We have added a mousemove event to the window object using the addEventListener function in the script file. This function takes two parameters, the first parameter is the event that we want to add. The second parameter is a function that will be executed after the event is triggered.

In this case, we have created the function mousemove() and have passed it as a callback to the event listener. This function takes event as an argument. This event variable will provide the mouse’s updated x and y positions. You can give whatever name to the mousemove() function, but you have to pass the exact event name to the event listener; otherwise, it will not work.

Inside the mousemove() function, we just have console.log() the mouse values using event.pageX, event.pageY, and event.clientX, event.clientY. The below screenshot illustrates the output of the above code.

track mouse position in javascript

Seeing the output in the console, you will not see any difference as the pageX, and clientX are showing the same values, and the pageY and clientY are showing the same values. We have not scrolled the page yet, so we are getting the same values.

If you scroll the page and then check the values, there will be a difference in the values. The below screenshot illustrates this.

track mouse position in javascript

After scrolling the page, the values provided by the events pageX and pageY are larger than those provided by the events clientX and clientY. This is because the pageX and pageY calculate the x and y values from the beginning of the web page, whereas the clientX and clientY calculate the values based on the visible part of the screen.

Later on, you can also take these mouse positions and apply them to the HTML element (by updating the left and top values of the element) so that wherever the mouse cursor moves, the element will also follow it. To achieve this, you also have to use other mouse events as well.

Now, you might get a question about which one of these mouse events to use in practice, and the answer to this is it depends upon the use case. If you want to track mouse position only within the screen’s visible area, go with clientX and clientY. Otherwise, you can use pageX and pageY mouse events for calculating mouse position from the start of the webpage.

Write for us
DelftStack articles are written by software geeks like you. If you also would like to contribute to DelftStack by writing paid articles, you can check the write for us page.

Related Article - JavaScript Mouse Position