Добавить измерение в массив NumPy

  1. Добавить измерение в массив NumPy с помощью функции numpy.expand_dims()
  2. Добавить измерение в массив NumPy с помощью функции numpy.newaxis в Python

В этом руководстве будут представлены методы добавления нового измерения в массив NumPy в Python.

Добавить измерение в массив NumPy с помощью функции numpy.expand_dims()

Функция numpy.expand_dims() добавляет новое измерение к массиву NumPy. Он принимает расширяемый массив и новую ось в качестве аргументов и возвращает новый массив с дополнительными измерениями. Мы можем указать ось для раскрытия внутри параметра axis функции numpy.expand_dims(). См. Следующий пример кода.

import numpy as np

array = np.array([1,2,3])
print(array.shape)

array = np.expand_dims(array, axis = 0)
print(array.shape)

array = np.append(array, [[4,5,6]], axis=0)
print(array)

Выход:

(3,)
(1, 3)
[[1 2 3]
 [4 5 6]]

В приведенном выше коде мы сначала создали одномерный массив array с помощью функции np.array() и распечатали форму array со свойством array.shape. Затем мы преобразовали array в 2D-массив с помощью функции np.expand_dims(array, axis=0) и распечатали новую форму array со свойством array.shape. В итоге мы добавили новые элементы к array с помощью функции np.append() и распечатали элементы array.

Добавить измерение в массив NumPy с помощью функции numpy.newaxis в Python

Предыдущий подход делает свою работу и пока работает нормально. Единственная проблема заключается в том, что предыдущий метод устарел и, вероятно, не будет работать с новыми версиями Python в будущем. Метод numpy.newaxis также можно использовать для достижения той же цели, что и предыдущий метод, но с еще меньшим кодом и сложностью. С помощью этого метода нам также не нужно беспокоиться о том, что он не будет поддерживаться в более поздних версиях Python. Метод numpy.newaxis добавляет новое измерение в наш массив в Python.

import numpy as np

array = np.array([1,2,3])
print(array.shape)

array = array[np.newaxis]
print(array.shape)

array = np.append(array, [[4,5,6]], axis=0)
print(array)

Выход:

(3,)
(1, 3)
[[1 2 3]
 [4 5 6]]

Мы преобразовали array в 2D-массив с помощью метода array[np.newaxis] и распечатали новую форму array со свойством array.shape. В итоге мы добавили новые элементы к array с помощью функции np.append() и распечатали элементы array.

Add Dimension to Numpy Array

  1. Add Dimension to Numpy Array With the numpy.expand_dims() Function
  2. Add Dimension to Numpy Array With the numpy.newaxis Function in Python

This tutorial will introduce the methods to add a new dimension to a NumPy array in Python.

Add Dimension to Numpy Array With the numpy.expand_dims() Function

The numpy.expand_dims() function adds a new dimension to a NumPy array. It takes the array to be expanded and the new axis as arguments and returns a new array with extra dimensions. We can specify the axis to be expanded inside the axis parameter of the numpy.expand_dims() function. See the following code example.

import numpy as np

array = np.array([1,2,3])
print(array.shape)

array = np.expand_dims(array, axis = 0)
print(array.shape)

array = np.append(array, [[4,5,6]], axis=0)
print(array)

Output:

(3,)
(1, 3)
[[1 2 3]
 [4 5 6]]

In the above code, we first created a 1D array array with the np.array() function and printed the shape of the array with the array.shape property. We then converted the array to a 2D array with the np.expand_dims(array, axis=0) function and printed the new shape of the array with the array.shape property. In the end, we appended new elements to the array with the np.append() function and printed the elements of the array.

Add Dimension to Numpy Array With the numpy.newaxis Function in Python

The previous approach does the job and works fine for now. The only problem is that the previous method has been deprecated and will probably not work with Python’s newer versions in the future. The numpy.newaxis method can also be used to achieve the same goal as the previous method but with even lesser code and complexity. With this method, we also don’t have to worry about not being supported in Python’s later versions. The numpy.newaxis method adds a new dimension to our array in Python.

import numpy as np

array = np.array([1,2,3])
print(array.shape)

array = array[np.newaxis]
print(array.shape)

array = np.append(array, [[4,5,6]], axis=0)
print(array)

Output:

(3,)
(1, 3)
[[1 2 3]
 [4 5 6]]

We converted the array to a 2D array with the array[np.newaxis] method and printed the new shape of the array with the array.shape property. In the end, we appended new elements to the array with the np.append() function and printed the elements of the array.

Contribute
DelftStack is a collective effort contributed by software geeks like you. If you like the article and would like to contribute to DelftStack by writing paid articles, you can check the write for us page.