JavaScript 是按引用传递还是按值传递类型

  1. JavaScript 中的原始数据类型是按值传递的
  2. JavaScript 中的非原始值是通过引用传递的
  3. JavaScript 既是按值传递又是按引用传递

在深入探讨 JavaScript 编程语言是否是按引用类型传递之前,让我们先看看按值传递和按引用传递之间的区别。

当我们进行赋值操作或处理函数本身时,这些东西通常会出现。因为大多数时候,我们执行赋值操作,创建各种函数,并将多个变量传递给这些函数,了解这些东西的内部工作原理将使我们对编程语言有更深入的了解。

每当我们将一个变量的值分配或传递给另一个变量或函数时,它被称为按值传递。当我们将一个变量的地址分配或传递给另一个变量或函数时,它被称为通过引用传递。

现在我们已经看到了值传递和引用传递类型的基本定义,让我们进一步了解它们在下面的示例中的使用方式。

JavaScript 中的原始数据类型是按值传递的

请注意,JavaScript 中有两种数据类型:原始数据类型和非原始数据类型。原始数据类型包括数字、布尔值、字符串、未定义和空值。

这些数据类型没有像我们在对象或数组中那样的任何预定义方法。原始数据类型是不可变的;这意味着无论何时你将一个原始变量的值存储或分配给另一个变量并对第二个变量的值进行一些修改时,第一个变量的值都不会改变。它将保持原样,直到并且除非你更改该变量本身的值。只有这样,第二个变量才会改变。

你可以在 MDN 上找到与原始数据类型相关的更多信息。

// Example 1
let a = 10;
let b = a;
b = b + 1;

console.log(a);
console.log(b);


// Example 2
let name = "Google";

let greet = (val) => {
   val = "Hi " + name +"!";
   return val;
 }

console.log(name);
console.log(greet(name));

输出:

10
11
Google
Hi Google!

借助下图可以更好地理解上面的代码。请注意,它只解释了第一个代码示例;第二个示例的工作方式与示例一大致相同。

原始类型示例可视化

在我们的第一个示例中,我们有两个变量:ab。我们为变量 a 分配了数值 10;这将在内存中为变量 a 分配一个空间,由具有地址 0x01 的黄色表示(这只是本示例中采用的任意地址)。

然后,我们将变量 a 分配给变量 b。这个过程将为变量 b 分配新的内存空间。在这里,它将存储变量 a 的值,即 10

从上面的例子中,我们可以清楚地看到变量 ab 的地址是不同的,这意味着它们在内存中分配了不同的空间。这个结果意味着,无论何时你将变量 b 的值更改或修改为 b = b + 1,变量 a 内的值都不会改变。只有变量 b 的值会改变,它会变成 11,因为我们将它加一。

在我们的第二个例子中,我们有一个变量 name,里面有一个值 Google。我们还有一个名为 greet() 的函数,它接受一个字符串值作为参数并返回一个新字符串。作为此函数的参数,我们传递变量 a(请注意,传递变量意味着传递其值而不是其地址)。Google 值将存储在名为 val 的函数局部变量中。

目前,变量 val 包含值 Google。在函数中,我们将此值更改为 Hi Google!然后返回这个值。现在,如果你输出 name 变量值和函数,以及返回值,它们都会不同。name 变量保持不变,因为 nameval 变量存储在不同的位置,我们只是将值 Google 传递给函数和地址。

之前,我们已经看到了按值传递的定义,它表示我们只在赋值期间或将变量传递给函数时传递变量的值。上面的两个例子在实践中证明了这一点。

JavaScript 中的非原始值是通过引用传递的

非原始数据类型由数组、对象或类组成。这些数据类型确实有预定义的内置函数,允许我们操作数组或对象内的数据。

原始数据类型是可变的;这意味着以后可以修改的数据类型被称为可变的。此外,非原始数据类型是通过引用调用的。让我们通过下面的例子来理解这一点。

let a = [1,2];
let b = a;
b.push(3);

console.log(a)
console.log(b)

输出:

[ 1, 2, 3 ]
[ 1, 2, 3 ]

上例的图像如下所示。

非前置式示例

在此示例中,我们创建了一个数组 a,其中包含两个元素:[1,2]。由于数组是非原始数据类型,变量 a 不会存储所有数组元素。相反,值 [1,2] 将存储在内存中的另一个位置。在这种情况下,该数组的起始地址,在这种情况下,0x01,将存储在变量 a 中,如上图所示。由于变量 a 具有存储实际数组元素的地址,因此它将指向该位置。

当我们将变量 a 分配给变量 b 时,我们将存在于 a 中的地址存储到变量 b 中。现在,变量 b 也将指向与变量 a 相同的内存位置 0x011,因为它们具有相同的内存地址。因此,如果你更改由 b 指向的数组的元素,那么 a 也会受到影响,因为两者都指向相同的位置。

在这里,我们使用变量 b(例如 b.push(3))将一个新元素推送到数组中。现在,变量 b 将从第一个元素 1 开始遍历整个数组,直到最后一个元素 2。在最后一个元素之后,它将新元素 3 插入到数组中。如果你同时打印变量 ab,你将看到由于引用,它们都将显示与 [1,2,3] 相同的值。

这被称为通过引用传递,因为我们传递的是内存地址本身而不是值。

JavaScript 既是按值传递又是按引用传递

JavaScript 编程语言支持按值传递和按引用传递。数字、布尔值、字符串、undefined 和 null 等原始值都是通过值传递的。非原始类型(例如数组、对象和类)通过引用传递。

Whether JavaScript Is a Pass by Reference or a Pass by Value Type

  1. Primitive Data Types in JavaScript Are Pass by Value
  2. Non-Primitive Values in JavaScript Are Pass by Reference
  3. JavaScript Is Both Pass by Value and Pass by Reference

Before diving deep into whether the JavaScript programming language is a pass by reference type or not, let’s first see the difference between pass by value and pass by reference.

These things usually come into the picture when we are doing assignment operations or dealing with the functions themselves. Since most of the time, we perform assignment operations, create various functions, and pass multiple variables to these functions, knowing how these things internally work would give us a deeper understanding of the programming language.

Whenever we assign or pass the value of a variable to another variable or function, it’s known as pass by value. When we assign or pass the address of a variable to another variable or function, it’s known as pass by reference.

Now that we’ve seen the basic definition of the pass by value and pass by reference types, let’s further understand how they are used in the following examples below.

Primitive Data Types in JavaScript Are Pass by Value

Take note that there are two kinds of data types in JavaScript: the Primitive data type and the Non-Primitive data type. The primitive data types consist of numbers, boolean, strings, undefined, and null.

These data types do not have any pre-defined methods as we have in objects or arrays. The primitive data types are immutable; this means that whenever you store or assign the value of one primitive variable to another and make some modifications to the value of the second variable, the value of the first variable will not change. It will remain as it is until and unless you change the value of that variable itself. Only then will the second variable be altered.

You can find more information related to primitive data types on MDN.

// Example 1
let a = 10;
let b = a;
b = b + 1;

console.log(a);
console.log(b);


// Example 2
let name = "Google";

let greet = (val) => {
   val = "Hi " + name +"!";
   return val;
 }

console.log(name);
console.log(greet(name));

Output:

10
11
Google
Hi Google!

The code above can be better understood with the help of the illustration below. Note that it only explains the first code example; the second example will work mostly the same way as that of example one.

primitive type example visualization

In our first example, we have two variables: a and b. We have assigned a numerical value of 10 to our variable a; this will allocate a space for variable a in the memory, represented by the yellow color having an address 0x01 (which is just an arbitrary address taken for this example).

Then, we assign the variable a to the variable b. This process will allocate the new memory space for variable b. Here, it will store the value of variable a, which is 10.

From the example above, we can clearly see that the address of both the variables a and b is different, which means that they have assigned different spaces in memory. This result implies that whenever you change or modify the value of variable b as b = b + 1, the value inside variable a will be not be changed. Only the value of variable b will change, and it will become 11 since we are incrementing it by one.

In our second example, we have a variable name having a value Google inside. We also have a function called greet(), which takes a string value as an argument and returns a new string. As an argument to this function, we pass the variable a (notice that passing a variable means passing its value and not its address). The Google value will be stored inside the function’s local variable named val.

Currently, the variable val holds the value Google. In the function, we are changing this value to Hi Google! and then returning this value. Now, if you output both the name variables value and the functions, along with the returned value, they will both be different. The name variables remain unchanged because both variables name and val are stored at different locations, and we are only passing the value Google to the function and the address.

Previously, we have seen the definition of pass by value, which said we only pass the value of the variable during an assignment or while passing it to a function. The two examples above demonstrated it in practice.

Non-Primitive Values in JavaScript Are Pass by Reference

The non-primitive data types consist of arrays, objects, or classes. These data types do have pre-defined built-in functions that allow us to manipulate the data inside the arrays or the objects.

The primitive data types are mutable; this means that the data types which can be modified later are known as mutable. Additionally, the non-primitive data types are called by reference. Let’s understand this with the example below.

let a = [1,2];
let b = a;
b.push(3);

console.log(a)
console.log(b)

Output:

[ 1, 2, 3 ]
[ 1, 2, 3 ]

The image for the example above is as shown below.

non premitiv type example

In this example, we created an array a with two elements: [1,2]. Since an array is a non-primitive data type, the variable a will not store all the array elements. Instead, the values [1,2] will be stored at another location in the memory. In this case, the starting address of that array, in this case, 0x01, will be stored in variable a, as shown in the diagram above. Since the variable a has the address where the actual array elements are stored, it will point to that location.

When we assign variable a to variable b, we are storing the address present inside a into variable b. Now, variable b will also point to the same memory location, 0x011 as that of variable a, since both of them have the same memory address. So, if you change the elements of an array pointed by b, then a will also get affected because both are pointing to the same location.

Here, we are pushing a new element into the array using variable b such as b.push(3). Now, variable b will traverse the entire array starting from the first element, 1, until the last element, 2. After the last element, it will insert the new element 3 into the array. If you print both the variables a and b, you will see that they will both show the same value as [1,2,3] because of referencing.

This is known as pass by reference because we are passing the memory address itself and not the value.

JavaScript Is Both Pass by Value and Pass by Reference

The JavaScript programming language supports both pass by value and pass by reference. Primitive values such as numbers, boolean, strings, undefined, and null are all passed by values. Non-primitive types, such as arrays, objects, and classes, are passed by reference.

Contribute
DelftStack is a collective effort contributed by software geeks like you. If you like the article and would like to contribute to DelftStack by writing paid articles, you can check the write for us page.