在 R 中讀取 xlsx 檔案

Gustavo du Mortier 2023年1月30日 2020年12月31日 R R Xlsx
  1. 讓使用者指定要匯入的檔案
  2. 在 R 中使用 openxlsx 庫讀取 xlsx 檔案
在 R 中讀取 xlsx 檔案

從 Excel 電子表格中獲取資料並將其匯入 R 中,最常見的方法是使用 Excel 將資料儲存為更傳統的格式,如 .csv。但如果需要反覆匯入 xlsx 檔案,則首選更快捷的方案,比如使用一個包直接將 Excel 檔案匯入 R 中。

R 中很多包都有讀取 xls/xlsx 檔案的功能。其中一個就是 readxl。這個包的外部依賴性比其他包少,因此幾乎可以輕鬆安裝在任何作業系統中。將它新增到你的 R 環境中的最直接的方法是用下面的命令安裝整個 tidyverse 庫。

install.packages("tidyverse")

但由於它不是一個核心的 tidyverse 庫,它仍然需要用 library(readxl) 命令明確載入。然後你就可以用 read_excel 函式匯入一個 Excel 檔案,像這樣。

MySheet <- read_excel("ExcelFile.xlsx")

在前面的例子中,我們將一個名為 ExcelFile.xlsx 的電子表格內容匯入到一個名為 MySheet 的 Dataframe 中。

讓使用者指定要匯入的檔案

如果事先不知道 Excel 檔案的位置,想讓使用者選擇要讀取的檔案,可以使用 file.choose() 代替明確指定檔案路徑。

MySheet <- read_excel(file.choose())

read_excel() 函式還有其他引數,可以指定一個特定的表來匯入,或者指定一個代表 NAs 的值來代替空白單元格。在本例中,我們匯入一個名為 data 的工作表,並指定內容為 NA 的單元格將被解釋為 NAs

MySheet <- read_excel("ExcelFile.xlsx", sheet = "data", na = "NA")

在 R 中使用 openxlsx 庫讀取 xlsx 檔案

另一個可以用來將 Excel 檔案讀到 R 中的軟體包是 openxlsx。這個包簡化了 xlsx 檔案的讀寫,和 readxl 一樣,不依賴 Java、Perl 或其他外部庫。使用 Rcppopenxlsx 即使對巨大的檔案也能提供快速的讀寫時間。這個庫對 xlsx 檔案工作得很好,但它不支援舊的 xls 檔案。

Openxlsx 提供了 read.xlsx 函式,用從匯入檔案中讀取的資料建立一個 Dataframe。它有很多選項,可以指定要匯入的區域是否包含行名和列名,要匯入的工作表的名稱或編號,要匯入的行和列,等等。

在下面的例子中,我們安裝包 openxlsx 並開啟庫。然後,我們使用 read.xlsx 中的選項,從名為 Data.xlsx 的檔案的第 1 張表中匯入第 2、4、6 行和第 5 至 7 列,並將這些資料匯入。

Excel 樣本

之後,我們將生成的資料框的內容列印到控制檯。由於我們不從檔案中讀取列名,我們將引數 colNames 設定為 False。R 會自動為匯入的 Dataframe 中的列分配一個預設的名稱序列:X1X2X3。注意,我們可以通過指定向量來指定要匯入的行和列。

install.packages("openxlsx")
library("openxlsx")
MyData <- read.xlsx(xlsxFile="c:/Tmp/Data.xlsx", sheet = 1, rows = c(2, 4, 6), cols = 5:7, colNames = FALSE)
MyData

輸出:

  X1 X2 X3
1 34 12 17
2 15 25 66
3 32 45 56

更多資訊請查閱官方 openxlsx 文件

Read xlsx files in R

  1. Let the user specify the file to import
  2. Use the openxlsx library to read xlsx file in R

The most common way to get data from an Excel spreadsheet and import it into R is to use Excel to save the data into a more conventional format, like .csv. But if you need to import xlsx files repeatedly, a quicker option, like using a package to import Excel files directly into R, is preferred.

Many packages in R have the capabilities to read xls/xlsx files. One of them is readxl. This package has fewer external dependencies than other packages, making it easy to install in almost any operating system. The most straightforward way to add it to your R environment is to install the whole tidyverse library with the following command:

install.packages("tidyverse")

But since it is not a core tidyverse library, it still needs to be loaded explicitly with the library(readxl) command. Then you will be able to import an Excel file with the read_excel function, like this:

MySheet <- read_excel("ExcelFile.xlsx")

In the previous example, we import the contents of a spreadsheet called ExcelFile.xlsx into a data frame called MySheet.

Let the user specify the file to import

If you don’t know the Excel file location in advance and you want to let the user pick the file to read, you can use file.choose() instead of explicitly specifying the file path:

MySheet <- read_excel(file.choose())

The read_excel() function has other parameters to specify a particular sheet to import or specify a value representing NAs instead of blank cells. In this example, we are importing a sheet called data and indicating that cells with the content NA will be interpreted as NAs:

MySheet <- read_excel("ExcelFile.xlsx", sheet = "data", na = "NA")

Use the openxlsx library to read xlsx file in R

Another package you can use to read Excel files into R is openxlsx. This package simplifies reading and writing xlsx files and, like readxl, and doesn’t depend on Java, Perl, or other external libraries. Using Rcpp, openxlsx provides fast read/write times even for huge files. This library works fine with xlsx files, but it doesn’t support older xls files.

Openxlsx provides the read.xlsx function that creates a data frame with the data read from the imported file. It has many options to specify if the area to import contains row and column names, the name or number of the worksheet to import, the rows and columns to import, among many others.

In the following example, we install the package openxlsx and opening the library. Then, we use the options in read.xlsx to import rows 2, 4, and 6 and columns 5 through 7 from sheet 1 of a file named Data.xlsx with this data:

Sample-Excel

After that, we print the contents of the resulting data frame to the console. Since we don’t read the column names from the file, we set the parameter colNames to FALSE. R will automatically assign a default sequence of names: X1, X2, X3 to the columns in the imported data frame. Note that we can specify which rows and columns to import by specifying them with vectors:

install.packages("openxlsx")
library("openxlsx")
MyData <- read.xlsx(xlsxFile="c:/Tmp/Data.xlsx", sheet = 1, rows = c(2, 4, 6), cols = 5:7, colNames = FALSE)
MyData

Output:

  X1 X2 X3
1 34 12 17
2 15 25 66
3 32 45 56

For further reading, check the official openxlsx documentation.